Zealous Defense For Assault Charges
Assault is a serious violent crime often laden with emotion. Being convicted of an assault charge can affect many areas of your life and the freedoms you now possess. It is essential to seek immediate, aggressive legal help from a seasoned Minnesota criminal defense attorney who knows the court system and how it works. In Minnesota, it is not the alleged victim who presses criminal charges for assault, it is the state itself.
Personal Attention To Obtain Results
Our aggressive attorney at the law firm of John A. Price III, P.A., is here to help during this uncertain time. He’ll work directly with you and explain details in easy-to-understand terms, so you comprehend each step of the process and know your rights. Whatever misdemeanor or felony you are charged with, you will receive diligent defense to ensure the most successful results possible.
Where Do You Fit In? Categories Of Assault:
- Domestic assault – Occurs within the same household members and includes physical harm or causing the fear of harm or death upon another family or household member.
- Fifth degree – A misdemeanor charge involving attempt to cause fear or bodily harm to another.
- Fourth degree – Assault with a dangerous weapon resulting in significant bodily harm. Harsher penalties may be given if the assailant is an authority figure or if the crime is related to the victim’s race, religion, disability or sexual preference.
- Third degree – Assault with substantial bodily harm to another; assault of a child under 4; or assault of a minor where there is a pattern of child abuse.
- Second degree – Assault with a deadly weapon, includes guns, bats, tools – any weapon considered dangerous.
- First degree – Minnesota’s most serious assault charge, defined as physically assaulting someone to the point of great bodily harm and/or putting a person at risk of death, or deadly force used against a police officer while on duty.
Potential Penalties For A Conviction
Some simple assault charges result in a misdemeanor while other more serious assaults result in a felony. The charges and the consequences depend on the severity of the crime and the characteristics of the victim.
- First-degree assault – A felony charge with up to 20 years in prison and $30,000 in fines
- Second-degree assault – A felony charge with up to seven years in prison and $14,000 in fines
- Third-degree assault – A felony assault with up to five years in prison and $10,000 in fines
- Fourth-degree assault – A gross misdemeanor (a felony charge in some cases) with up to one year in prison and $3,000 in fines
- Fifth-degree assault – A misdemeanor charge with up to 90 days in jail and possible fines
In Minnesota, if you are convicted of assault or domestic assault, you may also lose your right to own or possess firearms. A felony conviction for a crime of violence will also limit your employment prospects. For all these reasons, you should fight an assault charge.
When we are contacted before formal charges are filed, we can sometimes convince the prosecutor to reduce the charges to a lesser offense or drop the case entirely. If you are charged, we will work adamantly to dispute the prosecution’s version of events and position you for the most favorable outcome.
Assault Charges? Let Us Explain Your Rights.
An assault conviction can affect you for the rest of your life. You have options to avoid the worst outcome. Call criminal defense attorney John Price for a free case evaluation at 612-326-0701 or contact us online today.